In The Midst Of The Flood

As I sit here on a park bench at a local track, feeling the warm sunshine and the cool breeze, my heart can’t help but break over what our area is going through. Various places in our area are having to endure devastating flood waters coming into and even over their homes, churches, and businesses.  I look over to see a sand pile that is significantly smaller than it was yesterday with people shoveling sand into bags in hopes to protect their homes.  It’s in times like these when people often wonder where God is and what He is doing. I can’t even begin to understand what these people are dealing with… What will tomorrow hold? Where are we going to stay until our home can be put back together? How will we pay our bills? Does our insurance cover this? How do I explain this to my children? How much damage will this cause? When will things be back to normal? I’m positive that there are many more unanswered questions that our neighbors are dealing with. These are the tough things, the ones that don’t make any sense. Why would God allow this to happen? How can we move on from here? How are we supposed to have hope in such hopelessness? Why didn’t He answer my prayers? How can I comfort my family? Trust me, my friend, there is HOPE in the midst of the flood.

Personally, I have never had to deal with a flood that damaged any of my property. But, I have experienced what seemed like a flood in my life damage my heart and my spirit. I have been the “why God!?!?” kind of girl. It’s so easy in the midst of our floods to wonder why God would allow such a thing, why He would break our hearts, and why he would not protect us. First of all, I want to say that my God is a big boy. He has made us the way we are, emotional and sometimes, irrational beings. He put anger and fear into our wiring. He knows our longings and the limits of our understanding. He can take us being mad at Him! He can take our questions, our cries for help, and our desperation. He can take our ugly words and our hateful attitude. He can even take us walking away and not trusting Him. He can take all of these things, but that is not what He wants for us.

Tragedies and natural disasters are a playground for the enemy. Please don’t forget that! We tend to blame God in the bad times and not realize that He is Sovereign and all-knowing. He sees the big picture while we see the here and now. I’ve learned that in my moments of desperation that God shows up the most if we just allow Him to. The devil likes to discredit God. He loves to whisper “sweet nothings” in your ear telling you that a good God would not allow such a thing. He likes to show you the bad things in these situations so that your despair will make you blind to the blessings. There are two voices that speak to you through times like these. If you are not in the right state of mind you will hear the loud, obnoxious one… The one of the devil. But, if you listen close you will hear the soft, gentle voice of our Father. If we open of eyes we will see His mighty works. And if we open our hearts we will receive joy unspeakable!

In Matthew 14:22-33 Jesus shows us the kind of faith we are to have in troubled waters:

22 Immediately Jesus made the disciples get into the boat and go on ahead of him to the other side, while he dismissed the crowd. 23 After he had dismissed them, he went up on a mountainside by himself to pray. Later that night, he was there alone, 24 and the boat was already a considerable distance from land, buffeted by the waves because the wind was against it.

25 Shortly before dawn Jesus went out to them, walking on the lake. 26 When the disciples saw him walking on the lake, they were terrified. “It’s a ghost,” they said, and cried out in fear.

27 But Jesus immediately said to them: “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.”

28 “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.”

29 “Come,” he said. Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. 30 But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”

31 Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”

32 And when they climbed into the boat, the wind died down. 33 Then those who were in the boat worshiped him, saying, “Truly you are the Son of God.”

Aren’t we just like Peter? Wanting to be like our Savior, yet lacking true faith. When Jesus was walking on the water to meet them where they were, their first reaction was fear. The thought that He could meet us no matter where we are, in the pits of despair or the chains of worry, is scary. We don’t want Him to see us like that. We don’t want Him to catch us off guard. The first thing that Jesus says to them is, “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.” Be brave, don’t lose hope, I am here to help you! Then sweet ‘ol Peter decided to be brave… But just for a second. The moment he looked down and saw the troubled water, taking His eyes of off his Master, he began to sink. How many times have we been in over our heads, sinking in the pits because we took our eyes off Him? Peter cried out to Him, “Lord, save me!” Immediately, yes, that’s what it says… IMMEDIATELY Jesus reached out His hand to save Him. Jesus is always there waiting for us to cry out to Him, waiting to save us from ourselves.

Oh, what a merciful and gracious God we have! In our doubts, in our fears, in our distrust, and in our anger, He is waiting for us to cry out for help! To trust Him and rely on Him! It’s in times like these where God shows Himself the most. He shows Himself through the kindness of others helping out their neighbors. He reveals Himself through that nudge that we feel to bring someone food or say a prayer for them. He shows up in mighty ways by making all of the pieces fall into place and by making all the ends meet. He shows Himself through the sunshine after the rain. He shows Himself in so many ways that our minds cannot even grasp!

The Museum sings this song and I absolutely love it:

Every time I look at You, You’re smiling at me

Every time I walk to You, You’re running to me

Every time I lift my hands, You’re reaching for me

Even in the eye of the storm I look to You, beloved I’m Yours

All I see is a hurricane

All I feel is an earthquake

When I’m weak, You are stronger now

So I walk on water like it’s solid ground


Every time I wander off, You’re looking for me

Every time I cry to sleep, You’re weeping with me

Every time I get back up, You’re dancing with me

Even in the eye of the storm I look to You, beloved I’m Yours


All I see is a hurricane

All I feel is an earthquake

When I’m weak, You are stronger now

So I walk on water like it’s solid ground

LET US BE SO BOLD THAT WE WALK ON WATER LIKE IT’S SOLID GROUND IN THE MIDST OF THE FLOOD!

Leave a Reply

